Port Pricing, Terms, Billing
When you provision a port, you can select one of the following contract terms. Longer contract terms come with a discount:
Discounts: NRC (0%) MRC (0%)
- 12 Months
Discounts: NRC (50%) MRC (5%)
- 24 Months
Discounts: NRC (75%) MRC (9%)
- 36 Months
Discounts: NRC (100%) MRC (14%)
For example, the cost of a 1 Gbps port on monthly terms would be a $400 NRC (non-recurring cost, or one-time fee) and $250 MRC (monthly recurring cost). Whereas that same port on a 36-month contract would cost $0 NRC and $215 MRC.
For more information on prices, see our pricing page.
Extending port terms
To extend port terms (e.g. move from a 12-month contract to a 24-month contract), perform an upgrade on the port. For more information, see Upgrade an Interface.
Note the following:
- Both the original service and the upgraded service are prorated for the month in which you upgrade.
- Upgrading (extending) port terms essentially cancels your previous contract and begins a new one. For example, if you are currently on a 12-month contract, and then upgrade to a 36-month contract, you are adding 36 full months to your service terms.
Term completion and renewing port terms
When your contract completes, the port does not automatically enter another extended term contract; you can delete without paying an Early Termination Liability (ETL) fee.
Your account manager will reach out to you before this happens to help with a contract renewal and/or to ensure a smooth transition.
Canceling a port before the term completes
For information on how to cancel (delete) a port, see Delete an Interface.
NOTE: Per our terms and conditions, you have 24 hours to delete a port without incurring a financial penalty. This is regardless of the contract term length you selected.
The 24-hour grace period does not apply to Colt-powered ports. For more information, see Colt-Powered Ports.
When you delete a month-to-month port, your next invoice is prorated to the day. If you delete within the same month you provisioned, you must still pay the full NRC.
For example, if billing for the port begins on June 10th and you delete on June 20th, you are billed for 10 days (1/3 the MRC). You are still billed the full NRC.
12, 24, and 36-month terms
If you delete a port that is still in term, you will be required to pay the remaining balance on the contract (the Early Termination Liability or “ETL”). The ETL is prorated down to the day.
No additional fees beyond the ETL are applied.
Before you can delete an in-term port, you are shown the ETL and must acknowledge the amount.
When does billing start on a port?
Billing begins 15 days after provisioning OR when a port becomes operationally up, whichever happens first.
A port is “operationally up” when it meets the following conditions:
- The cross connect is in place.
- It is correctly sending and receiving light and is ready to send bits.
This ensures that you will not be billed for an unusable port and that the colocation facility will also have up to 15 days to correct any problems with the optics.
You can tell whether a port is operationally up by checking the Operational Status. In the following screenshots, the port is operationally down because the cross connect has not been installed:
Once the cross connect is correctly installed and sending light, the port becomes fully functional and the Operational Status reads Up:
At this point, billing begins.
For information about troubleshooting the operational status, see Troubleshooting Interfaces.
Checking billing status
Go to the Details page of the port. Under Billing Information, you can verify whether the port has begun billing yet: